Expect the unexpected at Swell

I can’t say I always like something unexpected. For example the flu…I haven’t met anyone that says “I am so glad I got that…nothing like full body aches on a lovely Saturday morning.” But I do love stumbling onto the unexpected moments.

It was quite early preparing for Day 2 of Swell Sculpture. I decided I would catch some images of the works on the Northern end of the beach when I caught movement from inside Midge Johansen’s  WOW sculpture.

As the sculptures are temporary installations – I thought I better take a closer look at what was going on.  It didn’t take long to realise I had stumbled upon the unexpected and truly a forever memory of Swell Sculpture.

The bumble bee yellow vehicle peering from the side of the “O” was no stranger to me. The sand flying in all directions meant only one thing…a child found shelter inside WOW.

When  I peeked in  I saw a little boy and his father were digging in the sand with full support of their digger trucks, bag packed with towels and water …no sculpture could have summed what I was witnessing any better than…WOW.

As this is my 1st year at Swell Sculpture I always have to ask “are you with the artist”? I already knew the reply. “No, my son thought this piece was the perfect digging fort.”

I forgot where I was heading and any urgency to move on vanished. The reason I raised my hand to volunteer at Swell Sculpture Festival was there inside the sculpture.

The family memories, the many interpretations of one piece of work, knowing I would be able to expect the unexpected and seeing that for one little boy, on one big beach…all that mattered was that his digging fort provided a space to share with his Dad along Currumbin Beach.

1 thought on “Expect the unexpected at Swell

  1. My family and I had many WOW moments again at SWELL this year. We have enjoyed the seaside artwork every year since the exhibition started and we feel quite an intimate relationship with the event.
    Many thanks to all the artists, organisers, sponsors and volunteers. It’s wonderful, intriguing and innovative…we are simply, in love with SWELL!

Leave a comment